Immigrant Women Entrepreneurs Europe

We are Women Migrentrepreneurs. Finding our place, making our mark.

On the business of blogging: an interview with Heather in Helsinki

Today we’re talking with Heather Domeney, a migrentrepreneur and blogger from Tasmania who now finds herself in Finland.  Heather is in the process of developing a start-up for tours in Helsinki, and here she tells us more about the business of blogging!

Why & how did you get started in entrepreneurship?

I rejoined the workforce after a few years as a stay-at-home-mum, in the position of bookkeeper for a small naval architectural firm. It was supposed to be part-time! After 6 years or so, and greater responsibility, I awoke one morning knowing that I would go crazy if this would be my job for the rest of my life! I knew my language skills would not be sufficient if I tried to compete with native Finns in the job market. Also, when I looked around, it was very obvious that I could return to my first career (hospitality / tourism) targeting inbound visitors.

What brought you on-line?

An old friend suggested that I blog about starting the business. So first I started blogging about my personal life and it’s grown from there.

How do you think blogging helps you to promote your business?

It’s too early for me to know if the blog will promote the business. I think it will do a better job to promote the face behind the business, in other words ‘Brand Heather’.

Can you tell us a bit about your experience of blogging?

I am so amazed that people are interested in my life and what I do!  The positives of blogging would be the community spirit amongst bloggers. There seems to be very little negativity, plenty of support and positive criticism! Negative # 1 would be the amount of time required maintaining each blog. I try to respond to every commentator and every visitor who likes a post. It doesn’t always happen, or I may take a few days to catch up. Blogging could very easily become a full time occupation. My number one blog I try to update at least twice per week, the others get attention when something blog-worthy happens.
Where do you draw your inspiration from for your content?

Heather’s Helsinki is easy: things that are happening in and around Helsinki, places to go, things to do, bus routes and what you can find along the way etc. This is my branding site. The Taswegian is about living in Finland, sometimes with the point of view of a foreigner, other times just regular daily life; sometimes comparing back to Australia and sometimes from a ‘creative writing’ perspective. The content has not been an issue; time to post is always the issue! Erica the Vulgar is more diary-like in content, and again, I don’t post here half as often as I would like.

Do you have any blogging tips you’d like to share?

My blogging advice: write for yourself, you will find the audience that fits your style and content. Don’t despair that no one is following you in the earlier days, instead read other blogs, comment and get involved. Personally I ignore the stats, and just interact with the visitors. Make them feel appreciated and welcome. If I comment often on a blog and the author doesn’t respond I generally stop following. Especially when they ignore all comments! If someone takes the time to visit and comment, the very least I can do is acknowledge their effort and time.


* A big THANK YOU to Heather, and happy weekend! ~ d*

Filed under: B in Business, Interact, , ,

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 23 other followers

